Coop carbone | Reducing energy costs
2200
page,page-id-2200,page-template,page-template-section_solutionsrentables,page-template-section_solutionsrentables-php,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,smooth_scroll,,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.4.2,vc_responsive

Reducing energy costs

Coop Carbone is currently focused on developing programs in two main areas: building and process heat energy production and transportation.

Heat production

The burning of hydrocarbons (fuel oil, propane, natural gas) for heating produces greenhouse gases. Coop Carbone works within the Administrative regional organizations of Quebec to make available to local businesses a mix of technologies specifically tailored to the Region. This can include:

 

  • Residual forest biomass
    Replacing fossil fuels with forestry biomass offers a strong potential for reducing energy costs and GHG emissions while also promoting regional economic development. Demand consolidation through Coop Carbone can allow for more rapid development of this sector, notably by building confidence in the technology and by growing supply and standardizing the quality of the materials.

 

  • Geothermal energy
    Heat from the ground is a local energy source that is green. It can be used for heating in winter and cooling in summer. Coop Carbone’s program can serve to assist financing of the significant initial investments required.

 

  • District heating
    In Northern Europe, district heating is increasingly promoted as a solution that is green and cost-effective. In addition to optimizing investments, district heating allows for waste heat (e.g., from industrial parks) to be recovered, to coordinate the needs of different clients and to use the most efficient technologies, like biomass and geothermal energy. Coop Carbone’s program.

 

  • Biomethane (a direct replacement for natural gas)
    Produced from our waste, biomethane is a source of renewable energy that is carbon-neutral and can be available in large quantities. Coop Carbone works with waste producers to improve the development of biomethane and make it available (through Gaz Metro’s distribution systems) to members wishing to reduce their heating emissions.


Additionally, Coop Carbone is looking at establishing energy efficiency programs (building envelope and equipment) for propane and fuel oil consumers.

 

Transportation

Transportation is the leading source of GHG emissions in Quebec and the only one that is on the rise. Coop Carbone is working with fleet managers and fuel purchasers to make the best technologies available to them, including:

 

  • Biomethane (small trucks)
    In addition to its role in heating, biomethane can reduce, in a cost-effective way, GHG emissions from vehicles. Coop Carbone is working to establish a program for its members who manage fleets of small trucks. These members would have access to a stable supply of biomethane as well as to optimal solutions for converting their vehicles to biomethane. 

 

  • Electrification of business fleets
    In a number of situations, the electrification of small vehicle fleets is a cost-effective solution that has minimal operational impact. Coop Carbone’s program will aim to improve the dissemination of knowledge and to facilitate large-scale implementation, specifically through consolidated procurement, adapted financing offers and improved charging infrastructure. Furthermore, Coop Carbone is exploring the implementation of even more innovative solutions, including smart transportation and the aggregation of logistics needs.

 

In developing its programs, Coop Carbone favours an open approach, including co-design phases with our members and partners. In this way we make sure our programs are adapted to the needs on the ground. Want to learn more?  Contact us.

Coop Carbone | Réduction des coûts énergétiques
1876
page,page-id-1876,page-template,page-template-section_solutionsrentables,page-template-section_solutionsrentables-php,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,smooth_scroll,,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.4.2,vc_responsive

Réduction des coûts énergétiques

La Coop Carbone développe pour l’instant ses programmes dans deux domaines principaux : la production de chaleur (bâtiment, procédés) et le transport (marchandises, personnes).

Production de chaleur

La combustion d’hydrocarbures (mazout, propane, gaz naturel) pour la chauffe produit des GES. La Coop Carbone travaille au niveau des Régions administratives du Québec pour rendre accessible aux entreprises locales un mix technologique adapté à la Région. Cela inclut :

 

  • Biomasse forestière résiduelle
    Remplacer des combustibles fossiles par de la biomasse forestière présente un fort potentiel de réduction des coûts énergétiques et des émissions de GES tout en favorisant le développement économique des régions. L’agrégation de la demande par la Coop Carbone permettra de développer la filière notamment en améliorant la confiance dans la technologie et en stabilisant et en standardisant l’approvisionnement.

 

  • Géothermie
    La chaleur du sol est une source d’énergie locale, verte et gratuite, utilisable aussi bien pour chauffer en hiver que pour refroidir en été. Le programme de la Coop Carbone va permettre de réduire et de répartir dans le temps les importants investissements de départ nécessaires.

 

  • Réseaux de chaleur
    En Europe du Nord, les réseaux de chaleur constituent une voie de plus en plus mise de l’avant pour offrir des solutions de chauffe simples, vertes et rentables. En plus de rationaliser les investissements, ces réseaux permettent de récupérer les chaleurs perdues (ex. : parcs industriels), de coordonner les besoins des différents clients et d’utiliser les technologies les plus performantes, comme la biomasse et la géothermie.

 

  • Biométhane (remplacement direct du gaz naturel)
    Produit à partir de nos déchets, le biométhane est une source d’énergie renouvelable, carboneutre et disponible en grandes quantités. La Coop Carbone travaille avec les producteurs de déchets pour en améliorer la valorisation et rendre le biométhane disponible de façon très simple (via les conduites de Gaz Metro) aux membres qui souhaiteraient réduire leurs émissions de chauffe.

    Par ailleurs, la Coop Carbone évalue l’implantation de programmes d’efficacité énergétique (équipements et enveloppe du bâtiment) pour les consommateurs de mazout et de propane.

 

Transport

Le transport est la principale source d’émissions de GES au Québec, et la seule en croissance. Cela constitue une source d’inefficacité pour l’économie québécoise. La Coop Carbone travaille avec les gestionnaires de flotte et les donneurs d’ordres en transport afin de rendre accessibles les meilleures technologies, dont :

 

  • Biométhane (petits camions)
    En plus de l’utilisation pour la chauffe, le biométhane permet de réduire drastiquement, et de façon rentable, les émissions de GES des véhicules. La Coop Carbone travaille à mettre sur pied un programme pour ses membres gestionnaires de flottes de petits camions. Ces membres auraient accès à un approvisionnement simple et stable en biométhane ainsi qu’à des solutions optimisées pour faire passer leurs véhicules au biométhane.

 

  • Électrification des flottes d’entreprise
    Dans de nombreuses situations, l’électrification des flottes de petits véhicules est une solution très rentable et sans aucun impact opérationnel. Le programme de la Coop Carbone visera à améliorer la diffusion des connaissances à ce sujet et à faciliter l’implantation massive, notamment via le regroupement d’achats, d’une offre de financement adaptée et une optimisation des infrastructures de recharge.Par ailleurs, la Coop Carbone évalue l’implantation de solutions encore plus innovantes, notamment au niveau de l’intelligence de transport et de l’agrégation des besoins de logistique.

La Coop Carbone privilégie pour le développement de ses programmes une approche ouverte, incluant des phases de codesign avec ses membres et partenaires, de façon à s’assurer que les programmes sont adaptés aux besoins du terrain.Vous voulez en savoir plus? Contactez-nous.